Help with loading external resources PLEASE!!!!!!!

Jul 30, 2010 at 3:23 PM

I'm hoping that someone please responds to this post. I've been developing with Silversprite for over 6 months now, and i really need some answers. It seems NO ONE reponds on this forum and there really are no answers anywhere else on the net.........mostly because Silversprite's functions are only half-working.

How can you load images or audio from a dll, assembly, or another project.....to use in your silversprite project?

Reason for this is my XAP is too big, and I'd like to load resources from outside my project.

I have tried every single available method: Creating an assembly, assembly.Load, WebClient, HttpRequest, Texture2D.FromFile.........

But it seems EVERY TIME i use one of these methods, it can never find my filepath or some type of error pops up.

If someone has a solution that WORKS in silversprite, PLEASE let me know!!! I would even consider paying for you help! How does a quick $50 sound??

Developer
Jul 30, 2010 at 10:27 PM

Hi

I actually see all the posts in the discussion on this project, I just don't know the answer to all of them or have the time to look into, sadly.

I understand your problem, but is this problem SilverSprite related? I mean, loading in assets from "the out side", isn't that more of a Silverlight question? Have you tried look over at the Silverlight forum for an answer to this? Have you tried doing a very simple Silverlight project where you try it out first, before including it in your game project?

Don't get me wrong here, I mean all these questions in the best way. :)

Jul 31, 2010 at 7:51 AM

Yes I have searched the MSDN, the silverlight forums, gamedev.net, and all over here. What I mostly meant is that Texture2D.FromFile would be the biggest help here, but most all of those variations aren't implemented. And WebClient, you have to be connected to a server before it will actually work........but then I can't debug my errors.