This project is read-only.

Latest Silversprite build

Dec 18, 2009 at 8:41 AM

Hello everyone,

This is my first time here. Last night I downloaded the latest version of Silversprite and converted my XNA game.

Everything went a little smooth, until I tried to exit the game: it crashed on a 'Draw' call.

I'm pretty new to XNA and silversprite in general, so don't leap on me if I overlooked this in the original XNA code.

In my code, I've created a Screen Manager that handles the transitions between different screens, etc, like the normal practice in XNA tutorials and other games. When I call for my Screen Manager to Exit, I stepped through the process in the Silversprite Game Class.  Apparently, the game doesn't exit immediately, but steps through the rest of the game loop to draw all the screens. Unfortunately, my Screen Manager previously removed all screens and unloaded the content. So when the Game Class calls draw, it crashes because nothing is there.

This does not happen in the XNA version of the game. So my question is, do I need to restructure my screen manager differently? Do I simply need to protect my code in my try/catch blocks?

Or is this a misunderstanding of Silversprite. Can I use the code differently to avoid this problem?

AND.....anyone have an extension or handy tool for using music and sounds more effectively than the bare 'Media Player'? :D :D :D

Thanks in advance everyone. Great Job Bill!!! :D

Dec 18, 2009 at 12:12 PM

You shouldn't have to do any of these things, this is clearly a bug that needs to be fixed. Were you using the latest out of the source tree when you hit this issue?

Dec 18, 2009 at 1:00 PM

Yes I am using the latest release of silversprite: silversprite-36278

This is the structure of my game:

Main Game class has the following member:

public static CScreenManager ScreenManager;

Inside the main game class, I do the following to declare my screen manager:

// Init the screen Manager